A Strong United Voice for Fire Prevention

NASFM 2019 Annual Conference

Mark your calendars for the 2019 NASFM Annual Conference! The Maryland, Virginia, and Delaware State Fire Marshals will be co-hosting the conference in beautiful Annapolis, Maryland July 22nd through July 25th, 2019. The conference site is the Westin Annapolis, located near downtown's top attractions including the United State Naval Academy, historic inns, restaurants, and cobblestone streets, and the magnificent Maryland State House. More information, along with conference registration information can be found on our conference webpage.

The first three days of the conference will feature speakers and presentations covering a variety of topics relative to fire prevention, safety, and security. We will host a State Fire Marshals Only Breakfast all four mornings. These breakfasts are for the State Fire Marshals only. Make plans to attend our Monday Night Event, a dinner cruise aboard the Catherine Marie Yacht!

We will also once again feature a dedicated Vendor Exhibit and Reception on Tuesday afternoon and evening with opportunities for attendees to learn first-hand of the latest technology and trends. The Exhibitor Guide and Sponsorship Guide provide more details on available opportunities. Interested vendors need to download, complete, and return the Exhibitor Agreement Form before registering for booth space. We are limited to 43 booths this year so don't miss out!

If you are wondering whether sponsoring or exhibiting is worth it, check out what Chris Roberts, President of GHS Companies and Brands had to say about their continued participation. 

“Saving lives and property is a noble mission shared by NASFM and many in the private sector. Like most companies, we spend money on booths for show after show to share our products with decision makers. We spend thousands of dollars, numerous travel days and we answer hundreds of questions to only meet a few influential decision makers. Nowhere else can we match the NASFM Conference opportunity to meet so many heads of state in one location. It’s virtually impossible to coordinate schedules to meet each State Fire Marshal in their state. Yet, for one week’s time and expense, we gain exposure to 30-40 under one roof.  While the exhibit time seems limited, we feel it’s perfect! When you’re seeking an audience with a specific few decision makers, there’s no reason to wade through hours and hours of sitting in a booth. In addition, the meetings after the meetings are invaluable at NASFM Conferences. The social events and receptions allow relationships to grow. As for our company, we can confidently say the synergy we’ve developed has helped us save lives and property. Which, after all, is the goal we all have.”

MLK Day of Service in Richmond, Kentucky

In Season 3 of CRR Radio from The Vision 20/20 Project, the hosts talk with FF/PIO Corey Lewis from the Richmond, Kentucky Fire Department. RFD was one of the 25 agencies across the nation that took part in 2018’s Town/Gown Fire Safety Community Service Project, a partnership between First Alert, the Michael H. Minger Foundation and Campus Firewatch, that connects college students with fire departments to install smoke alarms in at-risk homes. 

RFD took it to another level by also doing it on Martin Luther King Day as a community day of service with 53 students from Eastern Kentucky University. By using analytics, they were able to create heat maps identifying the at-risk parts of the community to better focus their efforts.

You can stream or download these podcast from The Vision 20/20 Project at or subscribe to it in Apple Podcasts.

50 State Fire Safe Cigarette Laws Preserved

For the second time in five years the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) took the lead on preserving the 50 State Fire Safe Cigarette laws during the Reauthorization of the Farm Bill.  Working with the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI), NASFM was successful in removing language that could undermine these important state cigarette safety laws.  This federal legislative success once again underscores the strength of NASFM, through its members, working as “A Strong United Voice for Fire Prevention.”  The vital efforts of State Fire Marshals and their staffs was crucial in providing the data and technical expertise to educate Congress on the importance of protecting these laws.

The Fire Safe Cigarette issue arose as an unintended consequence to the original intent of Representative Steve King’s amendment, also known as the “Protect Interstate Commerce Act.”  Despite concerns raised by NASFM, Representative King’s amendment was included in the House version of the Farm Bill.  The Senate version of the Farm Bill, however, did not include the King Amendment.  The House and Senate Farm Bill Conferees ultimately agreed to strike the amendment from the final bill.  Their agreement passed both the Senate and House.

If enacted, this amendment could have undermined numerous state laws, and infringed on the fundamental rights of states to establish regulations within their own borders.  The language would have forced states and local governments to accept products from other states that violate their state’s standards and regulations enacted on the sale Fire Safe Cigarettes. The King Amendment was intended to deal with standards on the production and manufacture of agricultural products, specifically, the housing conditions of egg producing chickens in California.

State Fire Safe Cigarette laws are, however, based on performance standards.  This crucial difference prompted the concern that permeability bands placed in a cigarette’s paper, known as Lower Ignition Propensity (LIP) paper, would be considered a production and manufacturing issue.   This manner of enhancing fire safety is the preferred and accepted method, meeting the performance standards set by all individual states.

New Mailing Address

Please note our new mailing address and forward all future correspondence to this address.  Thank you!

National Association of State Fire Marshals
P.O. Box 948238
Maitland, FL 32794

News from NASFM

  • The 2019 NASFM Annual Conference will be held at the Westin Annapolis in Annapolis, Maryland July 22nd - 25th.
  • 2017 Life Safety Achievement Awards Recipients have been announced.  View the winners here.
  • New Principal Members:

    Nebraska: Chris Cantrell. State Fire Marshal

    New Jersey: Richard Mikutsky, State Fire Marshal

    Pennsylvania: Bruce Trego, State Fire Marshal

    New Hampshire: Paul Parisi, State Fire Marshal

    Tennessee: Gary Farley, State Fire Marshal

    Rhode Island: Timothy McLaughlin, State Fire Marshal

    North Dakota: Doug Nelson, State Fire Marshal

Upcoming Events


Consider attending the Future of the Built Environment Forum being held in New York City on January 30 - 31, 2019 in conjunction with he Fire Department of the City of New York (FDNY) and International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF).

Click here for the registration link

Space is limited, confirm your registration by January 11, 2019.

National Association of State Fire Marshals
PO Box 948238
Maitland, FL  32794
Phone: 202.737.1226

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software